Highlights Racing


 column racing

Harmsworth Trophy

Founded by Alfred Charles William Harmsworth in 1903, the Harmsworth Trophy has gone on to become the Holy Grail of powerboat racing.

One of the most prestigious prizes in world motorsport, powerboating’s equivalent of the America’s Cup will this year be awarded to the boat recording the fastest average speeds in completing the UIM BPRC Marathon World Cup events, Cowes 100 and the Cowes Torquay Cowes.

Originally introduced to encourage and stimulate the development of the marine industry, the trophy was competed for by gentleman racers with Corinthian spirit.

Austrian Hannes Bohinc, considered by many as the modern day equivalent of his predecessors, is already one of only 10 powerboat drivers to have won the Harmsworth Trophy on more than one occasion.

He will compete again alongside fellow Austrian Max Holzfeind and distinguished English navigator Ed Williams-Hawkes at the 2010 British Powerboat Festival as the experienced crew attempt to secure the coveted solid bronze sculpture in Wettpunkt.com, the FB RIB 39, powered by twin FPT 560hp diesel engines.

Bohinc first achieved the feat in 1995, arguably his most successful year in powerboating to date.